Res Life, Road Trips and Trees

Dear readers,

To say that I was a bit ambitious with my posting schedule over the summer would be an understatement. Since diving into senior year (falling into? tripping into?), I’ve felt too overwhelmed to compile my thoughts in this one space as regularly as I would like. But here I am, trying again, especially since I have a few travel excursions coming up (see below!)

Instead, since it’s been almost two months since I’ve written, I figured a brief recap of where I’m at right now is most relevant. Here are some fun moments and life updates from the past two months:

  1. Move-In Day (and subsequent res life things): I’m constantly surprised and challenged by my OAs. I feel as though I’ve found a great fit for myself in my final year and a way to give back to OSU. I’ve already had the opportunity to help them professionally develop themselves through workshops, staff meetings, and personal relationships. In return, my OAs have taught me so much about supervision, role modeling, and being present.
    IMG_5072

    OAs Christy and Jaquan before move-in day opening!


  2. Student-Alumni Council: I can’t believe it’s my fourth year in this organization. With Homecoming quickly approaching, I’m overwhelmed with gratitude for all of the relationships and opportunities it’s given me. This wasn’t reallllly an update, just a thank you, I guess. Additionally, I’m thankful for the friendships that are still deepening among other SACers.
    IMG_5489

    Fellow exec board member, AJ, and I at the SAC retreat canoeing event


  3. Bee-el-eff: Buckeye Leadership Fellows (BLF) (currently accepting applications) recently celebrated its 5th-Year Anniversary! It was a great night connecting with all those who have and continue to make it possible.
    This semester, we are working on our senior capstone projects. My two friends, Ainsley, Julia, and I, are collaborating on a project surrounding personal development in rural high schools.

    IMG_5338

    The BLF senior cohort at the anniversary event


  4. Trees. Yes, trees. My current project as the Columbus Foundation intern is serving as a community liaison for the Weinland Park tree project. The Foundation’s goal, in collaboration with The Ohio State University’s Center for Urban and Regional Analysis, Neighborhood Design Center, and the Weinland Park Community Civic Association, is to get more trees into the community. Trees, as you probably know, are great for the environment, but they are also economically and personally beneficial to residents. I feel a little like the Lorax, but I’m also so excited to be connected to my future field and passion in some way.
    wp-01

    Courtesy of Columbus Underground


  5. Toronto. This weekend, the annual Fake Fall Break trip makes a triumphant return– this year to Toronto! I can’t wait to spend the next few days with my friends and explore a new city. If anyone has any ideas or favorite spots in Toronto, let me know!
One thought on “Res Life, Road Trips and Trees

  1. Hi Caroline,

    I’m a resident of WP and would like to talk to you about your efforts regarding trees. Please email me when you have a moment. Hope we can chat soon.

Leave a Reply

