Goodwill Site Visit

Dear readers,

After some technical difficulties a few days ago with this post, I’ve decided to try again! Last Friday I had the opportunity to tag along with a Columbus Founsation coworker on a site visit to Goodwill Columbus with the purpose of hearing their plan to rent out their parking garage as a social enterprise. 

Goodwill Columbus is right in the center of all the construction in Grandview, making it the perfect spot for renting out parking in order to generate revenue. This extra money will then go to their programming and mission. 

In addition to hearing Goodwill’s strategic plan and real estate overview, we toured their facility and learned more about what they do on a daily basis. Among other things, they have senior care, day care, health care, and workforce training available for both their 23 residents and daily guests. Hearing their passion for providing those with disabilities the training they need to live independently, as well as the love, attention, and community they need while there was inspiring. I had no idea the depth or breadth of the organization, and I’m glad I got to see it firsthand.

 

a job skills training area


Our last stop on the tour was their art gallery, where those in their fine arts program can create and sell their art. It was a beautiful space, and I encourage everyone to check it out online or at their Grandview location. 

 

the art gallery

 
Overall, I really enjoyed visiting Goodwill and hearing about some of their long-term planning as the Foundation prepares to grant funding to organizations in Columbus. I feel lucky to intern for an organization that allows me an inside look into their processes and meetings, as their willingness to include me has only solidified my decision to pursue City and Regional Planning after graduation. It’s been cool to see the type of impact I can have with this degree through their current employees, and I’m excited to move forward with my senior year and graduation plans! 

Sincerely,

Caroline 

Leave a Reply

