Choosing My Travels

Hello everyone,

The most frequent question I get about my study abroad trip is “Why Hungary?” There were a lot of factors, such as a couple of my friends having a great experience on the trip and accounting for program costs, but it all comes down to one thing: the unknown.Β 

My whole life, I have seen pictures of Paris, Rome, Dublin, London, etc. The well-known places have appealed to me just like everyone else, but since coming to college, I have begun to realize that the most rewarding and eye-opening moments of my collegiate career were found in the times I had no idea what I was getting myself into. Some classic examples were attending the Leadership Collaborative, becoming a Resident Advisor, and applying to Buckeye Leadership Fellows. I went into all of these experiences with an open mind because I had no idea what to expect.

That is what Hungary means to me. It is an opportunity to travel in a place about which I have no prior impressions. I wanted to go somewhere that allows me to have a unique and less-touristy experience. If you’ve never googled it, Hungary is beautiful, but it isn’t some mass attraction either. I can’t wait to explore this place that is so unknown to me (and maybe most of you); it’s a wildly liberating experience.

Leave a Reply

