Wish Me Luck

Hello to the four or five people who might have actually clicked the link and are reading this blog,

Let’s start with what you probably know: I love to write. I’m an English major, so I guess that’s to be expected.

But what you may not know: I love to write in handwritten journals, to actually place pen onto paper and run wild with ideas. Reading this, you may be wondering why I’ve chosen to keep a blog during my time abroad. I am asking myself the same question. But don’t worry, I will also be keeping a paper journal hopefully. (Let’s be honest, I already have one picked out and sitting ready to pack. It might have been my first traveling purchase).

Speaking with friends and relatives who have traveled more frequently than I have, I have decided to keep a blog to share with everyone at home. While my experience is singular, it is important to give my supporters the opportunity to stay connected with me while traveling, as well as to give them a taste of my European adventures. Plus, this will save me a lot of time explaining where I went and what I did during any emails I send or phone calls I make while away. AKA, please refer to blog about where I am currently exploring.

So now to the basics. Where will I be going? Good question, I will tell you!
During the month of May, I will be going on an Ohio State study abroad trip to the capital cities of Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia, with the majority of my time spent in Budapest, Hungary. After the duration of this month-long trip, I will be traveling with a friend to Vienna, Venice, Florence, and Rome (this is arguably my biggest dream coming true).

I’d like to take a moment to share my goals with you as readers, mainly to hold myself accountable as I work to achieve them. In particular, and in spite of keeping a blog, I would like to disconnect. While your comments, likes, and feedback will be appreciated (and read later), I plan on minimizing my time spent not actively engaged in the trip at hand. Too often, we fall into a pattern of media consumption and constant attention that it becomes impossible to fully know ourselves and process uninterrupted. I feel incredibly grateful to have the opportunity to turn off my phone and experience life in the moment while abroad, so that is what I’m going to do.

This goal does not just relate to social media, however. It is the embodiment of my focus on the trip. If you know me, you would probably know that “spontaneous” is not my middle name. I like planning, I like routine, and I like to know exactly what I have to accomplish for the day. On this trip, I hope to regain some of that spontaneous nature, to remember what it’s like to just explore with no goal other than immersing myself in realms outside my comfort zone.

With only 21 days until departure, my nerves and excitement are overwhelming. I am going to attempt somewhat of a routine to get my feet wet with posting before I leave, but with finals week approaching at school, we’ll see how that goes. I hope that you will consider joining me on this adventure by reading my blog, and I hope that you will find it somewhat humorous and entertaining (even if it’s just about me trying new foods and attempting curly hair without the proper haircare products abroad).

Much love,
Caroline M.

5 thoughts on “Wish Me Luck

  1. I plan on basically stalking you via blog. You basically won’t have to tell me a thing by the time you get home:)

Leave a Reply

